UNESCO Learning City Award – How to apply

How can a learning city apply for the award?

To apply for the award, cities must:

  1. complete the award application form and provide any additional materials (articles, videos, etc.) in support of their application;
  2. ensure the award application form is signed by the city’s mayor;
  3. sign the consent form;
  4. send the application to their country’s National Commission for UNESCO.

Each National Commission for UNESCO can nominate up to two cities for the award. An international jury comprising members of the UNESCO Institute for Lifelong Learning (UIL) Governing Board will then select the cities per region to receive the UNESCO Learning City Award. 

Who is eligible for the award?

The UNESCO Learning City Award is open to all UNESCO GNLC member cities in UNESCO Member States across the five UNESCO regions. Only members of the UNESCO GNLC are eligible to apply for the UNESCO Learning City Award. Past awardees will not be eligible for the award for a period of six years following the receipt of a UNESCO Learning City Award.

How are cities selected?

Cities have until 2 July 2021 to send their applications to their respective National Commissions. UIL will review and shortlist the nominations it receives from National Commissions. A jury appointed by UNESCO, which comprises members of UIL’s Governing Board and represents all UNESCO regions, will then select the awardees. Further information can be found in the award concept note.